Chelsea Liverpool Manchester City Manchester United Premier League

PFA Team of the Year: Paul Pogba in, Eden Hazard misses out

PFA Team of the Year: Paul Pogba in, Eden Hazard misses out

The PFA announced its Premier League team of the year to some nods and surprises. Manchester United's Paul Pogba is the only non-Liverpool or Manchester City player to make the list.

The league's top joint scorer Sergio Aguero tops the lineup along with five other Man City teammates: Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Fernandinho, Aymeric Laporte, and Citizens goalkeeper Ederson.

Liverpool, currently second in the Premier League table behind City, reveal a cast of five players including Sadio Mané, Andy Robertson, Virgil van Dijk, and Trent Alexander-Arnold.

The inclusion of Paul Pogba though over Eden Hazard came as a shock to many. Hazard was a candidate as one of the PFA Player's of the Year, having scored 16 goals and assisted 13 — the only Premier League player to accumulate double figures in goals and assists. It's no surprise that Hazard is one of Zidane's top summer transfer targets.

Meanwhile, Pogba is going through another bad spell for the Red Devils. After a brief bounce back following the departure of Jose Mourinho, it appears that the French midfielder is strugging in form again. United have now lost 7 of their last 9 games in all competitions since Ole Gunnar Solskjaer took over as full-time manager.

The PFA will honor the selected players at its annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 28, including the Netherlands international Virgil van Dijk who earned PFA Players’ Player of the Year.

Related posts

When does the Premier League summer transfer window start?

Robert Baum

Champions League: USMNT’s Pulisic excluded from Chelsea’s squad for Lille clash

Robert Baum

Watch Liverpool’s Darwin Nunez smash Premier League’s speed record

Robert Baum


#1. Who is the second top-leading EPL scorer behind Erling Haaland?

Harry Kane is the correct answer. He's scored 26 goals, putting him ahead of Ivan Toney (20), Mo Salah (19), and Marcus Rashford (16). Haaland, of course, leads the league with 35 record-breaking strikes.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More