BarcelonaBayern MunichBundesligaChampions LeagueLa Liga

Out of this world: Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or for a record 7th time


Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or in Paris tonight for a record seventh time. He is officially the best men’s football player in the world for 2021, after carrying Barcelona and leading Argentina to its first major trophy in 28 years.

“Today I’m here in Paris. I am very happy, really very happy, I really want to continue to fight and reach new objectives. I don’t know how many more years but I am really enjoying myself. I thank my teammates at Barça, Paris & Argentina,” said Messi in his acceptance speech.

“I am really proud to win again. It is incredible to win for the 7th time. I would like to thank my family, my friends & all the people who follow me & always support me, because without them I could not have done it.”

Polish striker Robert Lewandowski finished second in the Ballon d’Or voting, despite scoring 64 goals, notching ten assists, and winning three titles in 2021. The 2021 Golden Boot winner also broke Gerd Muller’s Bundesliga single-season goal record with 40 strikes.

“Robert, you deserve your Ballon D’Or,” said Messi to Lewandowski, who cruelly missed out on last year’s canceled award due to Covid. “Last year, everyone was in agreement to say that you were the big winner of this award.”

Lewandowski still finished the night with France Football’s newly awarded Striker of the Year.

Jorginho finished 3rd in the Ballon d’Or with 460 votes. Ronaldo finished outside the top three in the Ballon dOr for the first time since 2020.

Photo: Twitter/@iF2is

Related posts

Is New Balance poised to overtake Nike in Barcelona kit deal?

Robert Baum

The top 10 center backs in the world 2023/24

Robert Baum

Down but not out: How Man United can qualify for the UCL Knockouts

Robert Baum

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More